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    THE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCE, MANAGEMENT AND PEDAGOGYSouthwestern University

    Villa Aznar, Urgello St., Cebu City, 6000 Philippines

    Managerial Accounting

    Submitted by: J Walter T. PalacioSubmitted to: Rolito Canene

    Midterm & Final Requirements

    Part I. Fundamentals of Managerial Accounting and Cost

    Accumulation System

    We all know that basic accounting procedures involves three

    main financial statements the balance sheet, income statement,

    and cash flow statement. These statements are prepared for andprovided to users external to the organization such as

    shareholders, bankers, and government. Accounting focused on

    the external user is known as financial accounting. The term

    accounting covers many different types of accounting on the

    basis of the group or groups served. Accounting information

    typically provided to users internal to the organization is

    another type which is known as managerial accounting.

    Managerial accounting serves the needs of users within the

    organization, such as managers. In order to achieve

    organizational objectives, the management team is responsible

    for planning, directing, motivating, and controlling the

    activities of the business. Managerial accounting will show

    how accounting information can and should be used by management

    to carry out its mandate on a more efficient and effective

    basis. In many organizations, most of the accounting is

    performed to generate the financial statements required by

    external users. As an entity develops and grows, managers need

    information to help them manage the organization. Sometimes,

    this information can be obtained from the financial accounting

    system. In some organizations, whole new systems are designed to

    meet the needs of the managers.

    Managerial accounting is defined as the process ofidentifying, measuring, analyzing, interpreting, and

    communicating financial information to the manager/s for the

    pursuit of an organizations goals. Managerial accounting

    information includes the following:

    Information on the costs of an organizations product and

    service.

    Budgets.

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    Performance reports.

    Other information which assist managers in their planning

    and control activities.

    Organizations, large or small have managers and that person is

    responsible for making plans, resources, directing personnel,

    and controlling operations. Basically, managers carry out three

    major activities namely planning, directing and motivating,

    controlling, and improving.

    Cost is part in managerial accounting. Having a clear

    perspective about it would help give a person better

    understanding about the subject. A cost may be defined as the

    sacrifice made, usually measured by the resources given up, to

    achieve a particular purpose. Step in studying managerial

    accounting is to gain an understanding of the various types of

    costs incurred by organizations and how those costs are actively

    managed.

    Cost accumulation system or management in general is the

    organized collection of cost data via a set of procedures or

    systems. Cost classification is the grouping of all

    manufacturing costs into various categories in order to meet the

    needs of management.

    A figure indicating the total cost of production provides

    little useful information about a companys operations, since

    the volume of production (and therefore cost) varies from period

    to period. Thus, some common denominator, such as unit costs,

    must be available in order to compare various volumes and costs.Unit cost figures can be readily computed by dividing the total

    cost of goods manufactured by the number of units produced. Unit

    costs are stated in the same terms of measurement used for units

    of output, such as cost per ton, per gallon, per foot, per

    assembly, and so on. This is where cost management implies.

    Cost management is defined as "the establishment of programs

    that regularly analyze purchase requirements and suppliers to

    identify lowest total cost and maximize total value to the

    company. The development of a savings forecast by commodity is

    necessary to define budget parameters for building cost-of-goods

    structures." When we say strategic cost management it is aboutscrutinizing every process within your organization, knocking

    down departmental barriers, understanding your suppliers'

    business, and helping improve their processes".

    An expense is defined as the cost incurred when an asset is

    used up or sold for the purpose of generating revenue. The

    terms product cost and period cost are used to describe the

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    timing with which various expenses are recognized, an important

    issue in both managerial and financial accounting.

    A product cost is a cost assigned to goods that were either

    purchased or manufactured for resale. The product cost is used

    to value the inventory of manufactured goods or merchandise

    until the goods are sold. All costs that are not product costs

    are called period costs and are recognized as expenses during

    the time period as incurred.

    All costs that are not product costs are called period

    costs and are recognized as expenses during the time period as

    incurred.

    Mass customization has been defined as the ability to

    design and manufacture customized products at mass production

    efficiency and speed. Customization and mass customization are

    often justified because different customers can give differentvalues to the same product.

    Manufacturing is the use of machines, tools and labor

    to produce goods for use or sale. The term may refer to a range

    of human activity, from handicraft to high tech, but is most

    commonly applied to industrial production, in which raw

    materials are transformed into finished goods on a large scale.

    Such finished goods may be used for manufacturing other, more

    complex products, such as aircraft, household appliances or

    automobiles, or sold to wholesalers, who in turn sell them to

    retailers, who then sell them to end users the "consumers". Inmanufacturing, raw material is transformed with the help of

    labor and machinery.

    Manufacturing entails costs. Manufacturing cost is the

    cumulative total of resources that are directly used in the

    process of making various goods and products. In some formulas,

    the cost of manufacturing includes the expenses associated with

    the purchase of raw materials. At other times, the cost for raw

    materials is excluded. In general, factors such as labor,

    equipment operation, and the general overhead for maintaining

    the production facility are common components that are includedin determining the overall manufacturing costs.

    Since the goal of most production companies is to earn a

    profit by selling goods manufactured and sold by the company,

    paying close attention to the overall manufacturing

    cost/manufacturing cost flow (direct materials, direct labor,

    and manufacturing overhead) is extremely important. By

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    monitoring the various elements that make up the cost for

    manufacturing, it is possible to ensure that available resources

    are being used to best advantage, and thus earning the highest

    amount of return on each unit that is sold at the current price.

    Multi-product firms have to account for costs that can be

    tied to a product, direct costs. They also have to account for

    indirect costs not directly measurable (e.g., electricity). A

    'cost object' can be a product, service, process or any items

    which management requires cost information. The way that costs

    are assigned depends on their nature. A direct cost is easily

    traceable with a high degree of accuracy and indirect, or

    overhead, cost cannot be easily identifiable with a particular

    object.

    Product costs are costs allocated to a product; this is not

    just physical products. All other costs are period costs. Such

    costs are expenses to the income statement in the period theyare incurred. Product costs are recognized as an expense in the

    income statement only when the product is sold. Prior to sale

    the cost of products is shown as an asset (work in progress or

    finished good) due to the accrual principle.

    Following are the three broad elements of cost:

    1. Material

    The substance from which a product is made is known as

    material. It may be in a raw or a manufactured state. It can bedirect as well as indirect.

    a. Direct MaterialThe material which becomes an integral part of a

    finished product and which can be conveniently assigned to

    specific physical unit is termed as direct material. Following

    are some of the examples of direct material:

    o All material or components specifically purchased,produced or requisitioned from stores

    o Primary packing material (e.g., carton, wrapping,cardboard, boxes etc.)

    o Purchased or partly produced componentsDirect material is also described as process

    material, prime cost material, production material, stores

    material, constructional material etc.

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    b.Indirect MaterialThe material which is used for purposes ancillary to

    the business and which cannot be conveniently assigned to

    specific physical units is termed as indirect material.

    Consumable stores, oil and waste, printing and stationery

    material etc. are some of the examples of indirect material.

    Indirect material may be used in the factory, office

    or the selling and distribution divisions.

    2. Labor

    For conversion of materials into finished goods, human

    effort is needed and such human effort is called labor. Labor

    can be direct as well as indirect.

    a.Direct LaborThe labor which actively and directly takes part in

    the production of a particular commodity is called direct labor.

    Direct labor costs are, therefore, specifically and conveniently

    traceable to specific products.

    Direct labor can also be described as process labor,

    productive labor, operating labor, etc.

    b.Indirect LaborThe labor employed for the purpose of carrying out

    tasks incidental to goods produced or services provided, is

    indirect labor. Such labor does not alter the construction,

    composition or condition of the product. It cannot be

    practically traced to specific units of output. Wages of

    storekeepers, foremen, timekeepers, directors fees, salaries of

    salesmen etc, are examples of indirect labor costs.

    Indirect labor may relate to the factory, the office

    or the selling and distribution divisions.

    3. Expenses

    Expenses may be direct or indirect.

    a.Direct Expenses

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    These are the expenses that can be directly,

    conveniently and wholly allocated to specific cost centers or

    cost units. Examples of such expenses are as follows:

    y Hire of some special machinery required for a particularcontract

    y Cost of defective work incurred in connection with aparticular job or contract etc.

    Direct expenses are sometimes also described as

    chargeable expenses.

    b.Indirect ExpensesThese are the expenses that cannot be directly,

    conveniently and wholly allocated to cost centers or cost units.

    Examples of such expenses are rent, lighting, insurance chargesetc.

    4. Overhead

    The term overhead includes indirect material, indirect

    labor and indirect expenses. Thus, all indirect costs are

    overheads.

    A manufacturing organization can broadly be divided into

    the following three divisions:

    y Factory or works, where production is doney Office and administration, where routine as well as policy

    matters are decided

    y Selling and distribution, where products are sold andfinally dispatched to customers

    Overheads may be incurred in a factory or office or

    selling and distribution divisions. Thus, overheads may be of

    three types:

    a.Factory Overheads

    They include the following things:

    y Indirect material used in a factory such as lubricants,oil, consumable stores etc.

    y Indirect labor such as gatekeeper, timekeeper, worksmanagers salary etc.

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    y Indirect expenses such as factory rent, factory insurance,factory lighting etc.

    b.Office and Administration OverheadsThey include the following things:

    y Indirect materials used in an office such as printing andstationery material, brooms and dusters etc.

    y Indirect labor such as salaries payable to office manager,office accountant, clerks, etc.

    y Indirect expenses such as rent, insurance, lighting of theoffice.

    c.Selling and Distribution OverheadsThey include the following things:

    y Indirect materials used such as packingmaterial, printing and stationery material etc.

    y Indirect labor such as salaries of salesmen andsales manager etc.

    y Indirect expenses such as rent, insurance,advertising expenses etc.

    The stages in the allocation of overheads to products are

    as follows;

    1) Identify overhead costs collected from production andservice cost centers and apportion as appropriate and

    possible.

    2) Once identified allocate to production departments.3) Allocate overheads to a single product by dividing the

    number of products into the total overhead. The resulting

    sum can then be applied as cost to the product.

    Total Overheads of a Production Costs Centre ($s)/Level of

    Activity (units)

    Predetermined overhead absorption rates are estimates offuture expenditures. Estimates are used because some overhead

    costs are not known for some time until after they have incurred

    (e.g., electricity). Normal costing is where the cost object is

    determined using the actual costs for the direct the direct

    costs and a predetermined rate for the allocation of indirect

    costs.

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    Functional-based cost accounting classifies all costs as

    either fixed or variable in relation to changes in the volume of

    units produced.

    Activity-based costing tries to capture changes in

    technology by apportioning overheads to product costs taking

    into account activity and transactions that drive the cost. An

    activity cost pool is where the costs of an activity under the

    ABC system are accumulated. Drives are factors that cause

    changes in the use of resources. The focus in ABC is managing

    activities instead of costs.

    Absorption costing is where the cost of inventories is

    determined in order to include an appropriate share of variable

    and fixed costs. Fixed costs are allocated on the basis of

    normal operating capacity. In variable costing, only the

    production costs are used.

    Using absorption costing, production overhead costs are

    included as a product cost whereas in variable costing they are

    treated as a period cost. This leads to different values of

    inventory and therefore different net profit figures.

    The difference in profits derived from the application of

    the two methods can be reconciled by the following:

    Fixed Overhead Absorption Rate x Movement of Inventories in a

    period = Difference in Profits

    Part II. Cost Management Systems, Activity-Based Costing, and

    Activity-Based Management

    Activity-based cost management is an accounting method used

    by companies which allocates overhead costs for each activity

    based on the specific circumstances of each activity. This is in

    contrast to the common method of allocating costs based solely

    on the hours spent manufacturing a product or catering to a

    specific customer. The main advantage of activity-based cost

    management is that it provides a truer representation of the

    worth of each specific activity conducted by a business, thusreducing wasteful overhead costs. It can be a difficult process

    to implement, but, used effectively, can save a company a

    significant amount of money.

    As a business grows, the costs of maintaining and operating

    that business usually grow in kind. When these costs grow,

    companies must have accounting practices in place to allocate

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    the necessary funds for each specific business activity. These

    activities can include either the manufacturing of a specific

    product or the cultivation of a specific client. By using

    activity-based cost management, a company can separate these

    activities according to the actual costs incurred and their

    importance in the company's operations.

    For example, imagine a company that has to account for the

    manufacturing of two specific products. Product A is produced at

    low cost but at a high volume, meaning that a lot of hours are

    spent on it. On the other hand, Product B is only rarely

    produced, but it requires a great deal of technical expertise

    and it costs the company a significant amount to produce a

    single unit. A traditional accounting approach might allocate

    more overhead to Product A based on the amount produced and the

    time spent. Activity-based cost management would account for the

    fact that Product B requires a much-more cost-intensive approach

    and would allocate costs for it accordingly.

    In the same manner, a company that serves clients in some

    manner can also allocate costs accordingly based on activity-

    based cost management. Imagine a law firm dealing with many

    clients that pay less in retainer fees but require more man

    hours of labor than a few high-paying clients that only call on

    the firm in rare occasions. An activity-based approach would see

    the worth of the higher-paying clients, since the man hours

    spent serving them might not represent the costs associated with

    that time.

    Some companies shy away from activity-based cost management

    because it can be a much more intricate process that simply

    divvying up overhead based on the hours spent on an activity.

    Several well-known international companies have benefitted from

    this approach though, saving on overhead costs in the process.

    Software programs devoted to activity-based allocation of costs

    can make implementation the technique a bit easier.

    Activity-Based Costing Sample Data:

    Mode l Board Mode ll Board Mode lll BoardProduction: Units 10,000 20,000 4,000

    Runs 1 run of 10,000 4 runs of 5,000 each 10 runs of 400 eachDirect Material:(raw boards and components) 50.00 90.00 20.00Direct Labor:(not including setup time) 3 hrs/board 4 hrs/board 2 hrs/boardSetup time 10 hrs/run 10 hrs/run 10 hrs/run

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    Machine time 1 hr/board 1.25 hrs/board 2 hrs/board

    Direct labor and setup labor costs is 20.00 per hour, including fringe benefits.

    Product Cost,TVBPCS Mode l Board Mode ll Board Mode lll Board

    Direct Marerial(raw boards , component) 50.00 90.00 20.00Direct Labor(not including setup time) 60.00(3hrat20) 80.00(4hrat20) 40.00(2hrat20)Manufacturing overhead 99.00(3hrat33) 132.00(4hrat33) 66.00(2hrat33)Total 209.00 302.00 126Calculation of predetermine overhead rate:

    Budget manufacturing overhead 3,894,000Direct labor, budgeted hours:Made 1 10,000 units x 3 hours 30,000Mode ll 20,000 units x 4 hours 80,000

    Mode lll 4,000 units x 2 hours 8,000Total direct labor hours 118,000 hrs

    Activity-Based Cost Identification of Activity Cost Pools:Overhead Costs

    Total budgeted cost 3,894,000

    Activity Cost PoolsUnit Level Batch Level Product Sustaining Facility Level-Machinery -Setup -Engineering -Facility1,212,600 3,000 700,000 507,400

    Receiving/Inspection-200,000Material handling-600,000Quality Assurance-421,000Packaging/shipping-250,000

    Activity-Based Costing: Machinery Cost Pool

    Stage 1 Various overhead costs Maintenance Lubricationrelated to machinery Depreciation Electricity

    Computer Calibration

    Activity cost pool Machinery cost poolTotal budgeted cost 1,212,600

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    Stage 2Allocation to product lines Total budgetedBased on production of engineering cost = 700,000Engineering transaction

    25% of 45% of 30% of

    transactions transactions transactions

    Cost assignment: Mode 1 Mode 2 Mode 3Cost allocated to each 25%x700,000 45%x700,000 30%x700,000Product line/number 10,000 unit 20,000units 4,000 unitsOf units of each product = 17.5 per unit = 15.75 per units =52.5 per unit

    Activity-Based Costing: Facility Cost PoolStage 1Various overhead costs

    Related to facilities Plant depreciation Property taxesand general operation Plant management InsurancePlant maintenance Security

    Activity Cost Facility cost poolpool Total budgeted cost = 507,400

    Stage 2Calculation of Total budgeted facilities cost 507,400pool rate Total budgeted direct labor hrs 118,000

    = 4.30/direct-labor hr

    Cost assignment: Mode 1 Mode 2 Mode 3Pool rate/direct-labor 4.30/direct-labor hr 4.30/direct-labor hr 4.30/direct-labor hrHr x Direct-labor hrs x 3 hr per unit x 4 hr per unit 2 hr per unitPer unit 12.9 per unit 17.2 per unit 8.60 per unit

    Part III. Planning and Control

    As business environments have become increasingly dynamic

    and competitive, it has become increasingly important formanagers to develop coherent, internally and logically

    consistent business strategies and to have tools and models

    which provide useful information to support strategic decision-

    making, planning and control. In response to these needs, there

    have been many important developments, in both management

    accounting research and practice that focus on the use of

    accounting data and related information regarding strategy and

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    operations for these purposes. Some of the most important

    developments in strategic planning and control have been: (a)

    the balanced scorecard, a comprehensive set of performance

    measures designed to assist managers in implementing competitive

    strategies and monitoring performance with respect to them (see

    Kaplan and Norton 2000), (b) strategic variance/profitability

    analysis, systems which decompose measures of budgeted versus

    actual net income into variances which managers can relate

    logically to a firm's or strategic business unit's (SBU's)

    mission and business strategy and therefore use to analyze

    performance from a strategic

    perspective (Shank and Govindarajan 1993; Simons 2000), (c)

    profit-linked performance measurement systems, models which

    decompose measures of changes in profitability over time into

    measures of changes in constructs such as productivity and price

    recovery, which can be logically linked to a firm's/SBU's

    mission and business strategy and analyzed from those

    perspectives (American Productivity Center (APC; now theAmerican Productivity and Quality Center) 1981; Banker, Chang

    and Majumdar 1993; Banker, Datar and Kaplan 1989; Banker and

    Johnston 1989), and (d) levers of control, a comprehensive

    framework for organizing and employing management control

    systems to promote strategic objectives.

    THE DESIGN OF STRATEGIC COST MANAGEMENT AND CONTROL SYSTEMS

    If management accounting information systems are to be

    useful for strategic purposes, that is, to help managers

    increase the likelihood that they can achieve their strategicgoals and objectives, their designs and use must follow from

    firms' missions and competitive strategies. In Porter's

    framework, strategy should follow from an analysis of the

    determinants of the nature and intensity of competition: the

    firm's/SBU's bargaining over its consumers and suppliers,

    threats from new entrants and substitute products (barriers to

    entry and exit), and the intensity of rivalry in product

    markets. To generate a sustainable competitive advantage, a

    strategy must: (a) establish a unique market position based on

    low cost leadership, product differentiation, or a workable

    combination of the two, with an appropriate scope of markets(broad or focused/niche); (b) be differentiated from

    competitors' strategies, through unique product variety, ability

    to satisfy customer needs, and/or access to particular customer

    segments; and (iii) employ chains of complementary, value-adding

    activities which are difficult for competitors to replicate.

    The chosen strategy, in turn: (1) determines the SBU's critical

    success factors, such as delivering superior product and service

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    quality and achieving high price recovery for SBUs pursuing

    differentiation strategies, or achieving economies of scale,

    improving productivity and delivering threshold product and

    service quality at low prices for SBUs pursuing low cost

    leadership strategies, and (2) informs choices regarding the

    design of products and configuration of operations which drive

    costs and revenues. For a set of performance measures to exhibit

    content validity in a strategic context, then, it must measure

    constructs related to the mission and strategic framework, the

    selected strategies, the firm's/SBUs' critical success factors,

    and operating choice variables.

    In addition, the constructs, and their measures, must be

    causally linked. Performance measurement systems should

    explicitly incorporate models of profit-generating processes,

    so, when managers take actions the models suggest will improve

    performance along one or more dimensions, the intended

    improvements are likely to materialize. Thus, the models shouldincorporate relationships over time as well as contemporaneous

    relationships and linkages capturing cause-and-effect

    relationships between constructs and measures of performance

    throughout the firm (horizontally and vertically; aggregated to

    disaggregated; across the entire value chain). Finally, the

    measures should also have 'good' theoretical and empirical

    measurement properties (see, for example, Johnston and Banker

    2000a,b).

    STRATEGIC VARIANCE ANALYSIS

    Shank and Govindarajan (1993) decompose profit variances

    into mutually exclusive, collectively exhaustive sets of

    variances which capture the separate impacts of key underlying

    causal factors, for example, deviations between actual and

    budgeted sales volumes and mixes, market sizes and shares,

    manufacturing costs, contribution margins, and discretionary

    costs. Conceptualizing mission in terms of profitability and a

    build, hold or harvest perspective and strategy in terms of low

    cost leadership or product differentiation, Shank and

    Govindarajan show that, by analyzing the variances with explicit

    reference to a firm's/SBU's mission and business strategy, theycan determine the extent to which deviations between actual and

    budgeted performance are or are not consistent with the mission

    and strategy and identify specific dimensions of performance

    which need improvement. Analyzing the variances without

    reference to mission and strategy can be uninformative or

    misleading.

    Simons (2000) decomposes profit variances into

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    effectiveness variances (market size, market share, selling

    prices, and product volume and mix variances) and efficiency

    variances (materials and labor price and efficiency,

    discretionary and committed cost spending variances, and/or

    activity-based cost variances). Simons points out that

    effectiveness variances are of particular importance to business

    units pursuing differentiation strategies and efficiency

    variances to units pursuing low cost, high volume strategies.

    PROFIT-LINKED PERFORMANCE MEASUREMENT SYSTEMS

    Profit-linked models decompose measures of return-on-

    investment and net income into measures of productivity, price

    recovery, capacity utilization, and other managerially relevant

    dimensions of performance. Practitioners led the development

    efforts, with models which decompose measures of profitability

    into measures of productivity and price recovery (APC 1981;

    Miller 1984, 1987). Academics have contributed by refining andextending the models from the perspectives of management

    accounting, business strategy and the economic theory of

    production, showing how the models can be used to analyze cross-

    sectional differences and time-series changes in performance in

    the context of changing competitive environments and strategies,

    and examining the measures' mathematical, economic and empirical

    properties (see, for example: Banker, Chang and Majumdar 1993,

    1996; Banker, Datar and Kaplan 1989; Banker and Johnston 1989;

    Grifell-Tatj and Lovell 1999; Johnston and Banker 2000a,b).

    COST ESTIMATIONCost estimation is the determination of cost behavior in a

    way of analyzing historical data concerning costs and activity

    levels.

    Diagram:

    Cost estimation Cost behavior Cost prediction

    The process of The relationship Using knowledgedetermining between cost and of cost behavior tocost behavior. activity. Forecast the level

    of Cost at a particularOften focuses on level of activity.historical data. Focus is on the

    future.

    Cost Behavior Patterns is also called cost functions.

    y Variable Costs change in total in direct proportion to a

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    change in activity level. As the activity level changes,

    total variable cost increase in direct proportion to the

    change in activity level but the variable cost per unit

    remains constant.

    yStep-Variable Costs a nearly variable cost that increasein small step instead of continuously and usually include

    inputs that are purchased and used in relatively small

    increment.

    y Fixed Costs remain unchanged in total as the activitylevel varies. As the activity level increases, total fixed

    cost does not change but unit fixed cost declines.

    y Step-Fixed Costs some cost remain fixed over a wide rangeof activity but jump to a different amount for the activity

    levels outside that range.

    y Semi-variable Cost a mixed cost that has both a fixed anda variable component.

    y Engineered Cost bears a definitive physical relationshipto the activity measure.

    y Committed Cost result from an organizations ownership oruse of facilities and its basic organization structure.

    y Discretionary Cost arises as a result of a managementdecision to spend a particular amount of money for some

    purpose.

    Using Cost Behavior Patterns to Predict Costs:

    A sales forecast is made for each month during the budget year.Cost Item Cost Prediction

    (15,000 dozen of items per month)Direct material 12,500Direct labor 10,000

    Overhead: Facilities Costs 30,000Indirect labor 15,000Delivery trucks 6,000Utilities 2,500

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    SHIFTING COST STRUCTURE IN THE CONTEMPORARY MANUFACTURING

    ENVIRONMENT

    Fixed costs are becoming more prevalent in many industries

    due to two factors such as: Automation is replacing labor to an

    increasing extent and labor unions have been increasingly

    successful in negotiating agreements that result in a relatively

    stable workforce. This makes management less flexible in

    adjusting a firms workforce to the desired level of production.

    Advanced manufacturing environment is emerging and costs

    were largely variable have become fixed, most becoming committed

    fixed costs.

    COST BEHAVIOR IN THE INDUSTRIES:

    In manufacturing firms, production quantity, direct

    labor hours and machine hours are common cost drivers. Direct

    material and direct labor costs are usually considered variable

    costs. Other variable costs include some manufacturing over headcost such as indirect material and indirect labor. Fixed

    manufacturing costs are generally the cost of creating

    production capacity.

    In merchandising firms, the activity base is sales

    revenue. The cost of merchandise sold is a variable cost. Most

    labor costs are fixed or step-fixed costs.

    Cost behavior in one industry is not necessarily

    transferable to another industry.

    COST ESTIMATION

    - is the process of determining how a particular costbehaves.

    Cost Estimation Methods

    y Account-Classification Method of cost is also calledaccount analysis involves a careful examination of the

    organization ledger accounts.

    y Visual-Fit Method - The cost is semi-variable or analysthas no clear idea about the behavior of a cost item, it is

    helpful to use this method to plot recent observations of

    the cost at various activity levels. Historical data forthe companys utility cost is the basis to help visualize

    the relationship between cost and level of activity to be

    presented in scatter diagram.

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    Sample diagram:

    Companys utility costs: (per dozen)

    Month Utility cost/month Items sold/month

    January 5,100 75,000

    February 5,300 78,000

    March 5,650 80,000

    April 6,300 92,000

    May 6,400 98,000

    June 6,700 108,000

    July 7,035 118,000

    August 7,000 112,000

    September 6,200 95,000

    October 6,100 90,000

    November 5,600 85,000

    December 5,900 90,000

    HIGH LOW METHOD

    Semi-variable cost approximation is computed using exactly

    two data points. Its activity levels are chosen from the

    available data set. The associated cost levels are used to

    compute the variable and fixed cost components as follows:

    Difference between the costs correspondingVariable cost of items = to the highest and lowest activity levels

    (by dozen) Difference between the highestand lowest activity levels

    = 7,035 5,100 = 1,935118,000 75,000 = 43,000

    = .045 per dozen

    ENGINEERING METHOD OF COST ESTIMATION

    -A completely different method of cost estimation is to

    study the process that results in cost incurrence and called as

    engineering method of cost estimation. In a manufacturing firm,

    a detailed study is made of the production technology,

    materials, and labor used in the manufacturing process rather

    than asking what the cost of material was last period. The

    engineering approach is to ask how much material should beneeded and how much it should cost.

    COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS

    Examines the behavior of total revenues, total costs, and

    operating income as changes occur in the output level, selling

    price, variable costs or fixed costs.

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    Assumptions of CVP Analysis:

    y revenues change in relation to production and salesy costs can be divided in variable and fixed categoriesy revenues and costs behave in a linear fashiony costs and prices are knowny if more than one product exists, the sales mix is constanty we can ignore the time value of money

    CONTRIBUTION MARGIN

    Contribution margin is equal to the difference between

    total revenue and total variable costs.

    Contribution margin per unit

    Selling price - Variable cost per unit

    Contribution margin percentage

    Contribution margin per unit / selling price per unit

    Total forPer Unit 2 units %

    Revenue $200 $400 100%Variable costs 120 240 60%Contribution margin $80 $160 40%

    CONTRIBUTION MARGIN INCOME STATEMENT

    Income statement that groups line items by cost behavior to

    highlight the contribution margin.

    Packages Sold0 1 2 25 40

    Revenue $0 $200 $400 $5,000 $8,000Variable costs 0 120 240 3,000 4,800Contribution margin 0 80 160 2,000 3,200Fixed costs 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000Operating income $(2,000) $(1,920) $(1,840) $0 $1,200

    BREAK-EVEN POINT

    y Quantity of output where total revenues equal total costs.y Point where operating income equals zero.

    Breakeven point in units Breakeven point in dollars=Fixed costs / Contribution margin per unit =Fixed costs / contribution margin %=$2,000 / $80 =$2,000 / 40%= 25 units = $5,000

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    COST-VOLUME-PROFIT GRAPH

    TARGET OPERATING INCOMEFor most firms in the private sector, the main objective is not to breakeven

    Convert after-tax desired net income to its before-tax equivalent operating income

    Target operating income:=Target net income / (1 - tax rate)

    Target Unit Sales:= (Fixed costs + Target operating income)

    / Contribution margin per unit

    Target Dollar Sales:= (Fixed costs + Target operating income)

    / Contribution margin %

    SENSITIVITY ANALYSIS

    y sensitivity analysis is a what-if technique that examineshow a result will change if the original predicted data are

    not achieved or if an underlying assumption changes

    y What will happen to operating income if volume declines by5%?

    y What will happen to operating income if variable costsincrease by 10% per unit?

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    y sensitivity analysis broadens managements perspectivesabout possible outcomes

    CVP helps managers assess the risks and potential benefits

    of adopting alternative cost structures.

    Example: Alternative rental arrangements

    REVENUE MIX

    Revenue mix (or sales mix) is the relative combination of

    quantities of products or services that make up total revenue.

    Ex:

    Sales mix of Do-All : Superword = 2 : 1

    Breakeven point in units

    = 30 units 20 units of Do-All

    10 units of Superword

    MULTIPLE COST DRIVERS

    In many cases there may be multiple cost drivers.

    Do-All Software Example

    Variable costs: $40 per software package sold$15 per invoice issued

    Operating income= Revenue ($40 x packages sold) ($15 x invoices issued) Fixed costs

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    In cases where there are multiple cost drivers there are

    multiple breakeven points.

    CONTRIBUTION MARGIN & GROSS MARGIN

    Merchandising Sector

    Manufacturing Sector

    DECISION MODELS AND UNCERTAINTY

    y Managers make predictions and decisions in a world ofuncertainty.

    y Estimate events that are likely to occur and assignprobabilities to each outcome.

    y Probability distribution describes the likelihood of eachmutually exclusive and collectively exhaustive set of

    events (must add to 1.00).

    y Expected value is a weighted average of the outcomes withthe probability of each outcome serving as the weight.

    Contribution Margin Format

    Revenues $200Variable costs:Cost of goods sold $120Other variable 43 163Contribution margin 37Fixed costs:Cost of goods sold 5

    Other fixed 19 24Operating income $13

    Gross Margin FormatRevenues $200Cost of goods sold (120+5) 125Gross margin 75Operating costs (43+19) 62Operating income $13

    Contribution Margin Format

    Revenues $1,000Variable costs:Manufacturing $250

    Non-manufacturing 270 520Contribution margin 480Fixed costs:Manufacturing 160Non-manufacturing 138 298O eratin income 182

    Gross Margin Format

    Revenues $1,000

    Cost of goods sold (250+160) 410Gross margin 590Non-manufacturing (270+138) 408Operating income $182

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    Uncertainty Example

    Proposal A: Spy Novel

    Expected value= (0.1x$300,000) + (.02x$350,000) + (.04x$400,000) + (0.2x$450,000) + (0.1x$500,000)= $400,000

    RESPONSIBILITY ACCOUNTING

    Responsibility accounting is an underlying concept of

    accounting performance measurement systems. The basic idea is

    that large diversified organizations are difficult, if not

    impossible to manage as a single segment, thus they must be

    decentralized or separated into manageable parts. These parts or

    segments are referred to as responsibility centers that include:

    1) revenue centers, 2) cost centers, 3) profit centers and 4)

    investment centers. This approach allows responsibility to be

    assigned to the segment managers that have the greatest amount

    of influence over the key elements to be managed. These elementsinclude revenue for a revenue center (a segment that mainly

    generates revenue with relatively little costs), costs for a

    cost center (a segment that generates costs, but no revenue), a

    measure of profitability for a profit center (a segment that

    generates both revenue and costs) and return on investment (ROI)

    for an investment center (a segment such as a division of a

    company where the manager controls the acquisition and

    utilization of assets, as well as revenue and costs).

    Controllability Concept

    An underlying concept of responsibility accounting is

    referred to as controllability. Conceptually, a manager should

    only be held responsible for those aspects of performance that

    he or she can control. In my view, this concept is rarely, if

    ever, applied successfully in practice because of the system

    variation present in all systems. Attempts to apply the

    controllability concept produce responsibility reports where

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    each layer of management is held responsible for all subordinate

    management layers as illustrated below.

    Advantages and Disadvantages

    Responsibility accounting has been an accepted part of

    traditional accounting control systems for many years because it

    provides an organization with a number of advantages. Perhaps

    the most compelling argument for the responsibility accounting

    approach is that it provides a way to manage an organization

    that would otherwise be unmanageable. In addition, assigning

    responsibility to lower level managers allows higher level

    managers to pursue other activities such as long term planning

    and policy making. It also provides a way to motivate lower

    level managers and workers. Managers and workers in an

    individualistic system tend to be motivated by measurements thatemphasize their individual performances. However, this emphasis

    on the performance of individuals and individual segments

    creates what some critics refer to as the "stovepipe

    organization." Others have used the term "functional silos" to

    describe the same idea. Consider 9-6 Exhibit below. Information

    flows vertically, rather than horizontally. Individuals in the

    various segments and functional areas are separated and tend to

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    ignore the interdependencies within the organization. Segment

    managers and individual workers within segments tend to compete

    to optimize their own performance measurements rather than

    working together to optimize the performance of the system.

    Summary and Controversial Question

    An implicit assumption of responsibility accounting is that

    separating a company into responsibility centers that are

    controlled in a top down manner is the way to optimize the

    system. However, this separation inevitably fails to consider

    many of the interdependencies within the organization. Ignoring

    the interdependencies prevents teamwork and creates the need for

    buffers such as additional inventory, workers, managers and

    capacity. Of course, a system that prevents teamwork and creates

    excess is inconsistent with the lean enterprise concepts ofjust-in-time and the theory of constraints. For this reason,

    critics of traditional accounting control systems advocate

    managing the system as a whole to eliminate the need for buffers

    and excess. They also argue that companies need to develop

    process oriented learning support systems, not financial

    results, fear oriented control systems. The information system

    needs to reveal the company's problems and constraints in a

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    timely manner and at a disaggregated level so that empowered

    users can identify how to correct problems, remove constraints

    and improve the process. According to these critics, accounting

    control information does not qualify in any of these categories

    because it is not timely, disaggregated, or user friendly.

    This harsh criticism of accounting control information leads us

    to a very important controversial question. Can a company

    successfully implement just-in-time and other continuous

    improvement concepts while retaining a traditional

    responsibility accounting control system? Although the jury is

    still out on this question, a number of field research studies

    indicate that accounting based controls are playing a decreasing

    role in companies that adopt the lean enterprise concepts. In a

    recent study involving nine companies, each company answered

    this controversial question in a different way by using a

    different mix of process oriented versus results oriented

    learning and control information. Since each company isdifferent, a generalized answer to this question for all firms

    in all situations cannot be provided.

    Part IV. Using Accounting Information in Decision Making

    The Managerial Accountants Role in Decision Making

    Managerial Accountant

    Designs and implements Cross-functional managementaccounting information teams who make production,system marketing and finance decisions

    Make substantive economicdecisions affecting operations

    Steps in the Decision-Making Process1.Clarify the decision problem

    - The decision to be made is clear.

    Accept or Reject is the decision problem

    2.Specify the criterion- Once a decision problem has been clarified, the

    manager should specify the criterion upon which a decision will

    be made. Determining the objective of the decision

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    3.Identify the alternatives- A decision involves selecting between two or more

    alternatives. Determining the possible alternatives is a

    critical step in the decision process

    IDENTIFYING RELEVANT COSTS AND BENEFITS:

    Sunk Costs are costs that have already been incurred. They

    do not affect any future cost and cannot be changed by any

    current or future action. Sunk costs are irrelevant to

    decisions.

    Example:

    Book Value of Equipment that has a three year old used

    to transport product from production area to storage room. The

    book value of the equipment defined as the assets acquisition

    cost less the accumulated depreciation to date.

    Acquisition cost of older equipment-----100,000.00

    Less: Accumulated depreciation----------75,000.00

    Book value------------------------------25,000.00

    ==========

    A decision to take since old equipment has one year useful life

    with excessive additional variable cost. The decision is about

    the replacement of the old equipment. It could be sold to 20% of

    its useful life and annual cost- 80,000.

    The new kind of equipment is much cheaper than the old and

    cost less to operate. However, the new equipment would be

    operable for only one year before it would need to be replaced.

    The pertinent data of new equipment are:

    Acquisition cost-----------------15,000.00

    Useful life---------------------- 1 year

    Salvage value after one year----- 0

    Annual depreciation--------------15,000.00

    Annual operating costs-----------45,000.00

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    Equipment Replacement Decision: Worldwide Airways

    Cost of Two Alternatives(a) (b) (c)

    Do not replace Replace Differential

    (Sunk Cost) old equipment old equip. costDepreciation (old) 25,000Write-off book value 25,000 0

    (Relevant Data)Proceed from disposal 0 (5000) 5000Depreciation (cost) new 0 15,000 (15,000)Operating costs 80,000 45,000 35,000

    Total 105,000 80,000 25,000======= ====== ========

    Obsolete Inventory Decision: Worldwide Airways

    Cost of Two Alternatives(a) (b) (c)

    Modify and Dispose of Differential(Sunk Cost) use parts Parts cost

    Asset value written off 20,000 20,000 0(Relevant Data)

    Proceed from disposal 0 (17,000) 17,000Cost of modify parts 12,000 0 12,000Cost to buy new parts 0 26,000 (26,000)Total 32,000 29,000 3,000

    ======= ======= =======

    Analysis of Special Decisions:

    a. Accept or Reject a Special Offer

    b. Outsource a Product or Service

    c. Add or Drop a Service, Product, or Department

    d. Joint Products: Sell or Process Further

    Manager in all organizations periodically face major

    decisions that involve cash flows over several years. Decisionsinvolving the acquisition of machinery, vehicles, buildings, or

    land are examples of such decisions. Other examples include

    decisions involving significant changes in a production process

    or adding a major new line of products or service to the

    organizations activities.

    Capital-budgeting decision is a decisions involving

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    cash inflows and outflows beyond the current year.

    Type:

    1. Acceptance-or-Rejection Decisions: managers mustdecide whether they should undertake a particular

    capital investment project. In such a decision,

    the required funds are available or readily

    obtainable and management must decide whether the

    project is worthwhile.

    2. Capital-Rationing Decision: managers must decidewhich of several worthwhile projects makes the

    best use of limited investment funds.

    Aspect of Capital Expenditure Decision:

    y Discounted-Cash-Flow Analysisa method of evaluating an investment by estimating

    future cash flows and taking into consideration the

    time value of money, also called capitalization of

    income.

    Steps in constituting net-present-value analysis:

    1. Prepare a table showing the cash flows during each yearof the proposed investment.

    2. Compute the present value of each cash flow, using adiscount rate that reflects the cost of acquiring

    investment capital.

    3. Compute the net present value, which is the sum of thepresent values of the cash flows.

    4. If the net present value is equal to or greater thanzero, accept the investment proposal.

    ANALYTICAL TECHNIQUE:

    Discounted-Cash-Flow Analysis

    The managerial accountant or controller of Mountain

    view Hotel routinely advises the mayor and city council on major

    capital-investment decisions. Currently under consideration in

    the purchase of a new street cleaner, the controller has

    estimated that the citys old street-cleaning machine would lastanother five years. A new street cleaner, which also would last

    for five years, can be purchased for $50,470. It would cost the

    city $14,000 less each year to operate the new equipment than it

    costs to operate the old machine. The expected cost savings with

    the new machine are due to lower expected maintenance costs.

    Thus, the sew street cleaner will cost $50,470 and save $70,000

    over its five-year life. ($70,000= 5 X $14,000 savings per

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    year). Since the $70,000 in cost savings exceeds the $50,470

    acquisition cost, one might be tempted to conclude that the new

    machine should be purchased. However, this analysis is flawed,

    since it does not account for the time value of money. The

    $50,470 acquisition cost will occur now, but the cost savings

    are spread over a five years period. It is a mistake to add cash

    flowsoccurring at different points in time.Method:

    Net-Present-Value Method

    Mountainview City Government

    Step 1 Time 0 Time 1 Time 2 Time 3 Time 4 Time 5

    Acquisition cost $(50,470)

    Annual cost saving $14 k $14 K $ 14 k $ 14 k $ 14 k

    Step 2 Present value of annuity=$14,000 (3.791)

    Annuity discount factor for r=.10 n=5

    Present value $(50,470) $53,074

    Step 3 Net present value $2,604Step 4 Accept proposal, since net present value is positive

    INTERNAL-RATE-OF-RETURN METHOD

    - It is an alternative discounted-cash-flow method for

    analyzing investment proposals.

    Internal rate of return or Time-adjusted rate of

    return of an asset is the true economic return earned by the

    asset over its life. An assets internal rate of return is the

    discount rate that would be required in a net-present-value

    analysis in order for the assets net present value to beexactly zero.

    The higher the discount rate used in a net-present-

    valueanalysis, the lower the present value of all future cashflows will be.

    Finding the internal rate of return for the investment

    proposal:

    - It could be a trial and error presenting with a

    different discount rates until to yields a zero net-present-

    value.

    where r=IRR (Internal Rate of Return)

    IRR of an annuity:

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    where:

    Q (n,r) is the discount factor

    Io is the initial outlay

    C is the uniform annual receipt (C1 = C2 =....= Cn).

    Example 1:

    What is the IRR of an equal annual income of $20 per annum which

    accrues for 7 years and costs $120?

    = 6

    From the tables = 4%

    Economic rationale for IRR:

    If IRR exceeds cost of capital, project is worthwhile, i.e. itis profitable to undertake.

    Example 2:

    r

    10% : ( 3.791 ) ($14,000 ) - $ 50,470 = $2,604 Yields a positive NPV12% : ( 3.605 ) ($14,000 ) - $ 50,470 = $ 0 Yields a zero NPV

    14% : ( 3.433 ) ($14,000 ) - $50,470 = $(2,408) Yields a negative NPV

    Cash-Inflows in 5 years timeTime 0 1 2 3 4 5

    cash flow $(50,470) $14,000 $14,000 $14,000 $14,000 $14,000

    Initial cash outflow(acquisition cost) Equal cash inflow

    ( Operating CostSaving)

    A cash flows exhibit a very special pattern, the rate of

    return is determined in two steps:

    1. Divide the initial cash outflow by the equivalentannual cash inflows.

    $50,470 / 14,000= 3.605 equal to Annuity discount factor

    2. Refer to the above table.

    N=5 10% 12% 14%3.791 3.605 3.433

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    Recovery of Investment

    - Provide benefits in the future such as expected

    future operating-cost saving.

    - Expected future benefits must be sufficient for the

    purchaser to recover the investment and earn a return on the

    investment equal to or greater than the cost of acquiring

    capital.

    Mountainview City Gorvernment

    Purchase of Street Cleaner(r=.12 n=5)

    1 2 3 4 51.) unrecovered investment

    at beginning of year ----------------------- 50,470 42,526 33,629 23,664 12,504

    2.) Cost saving during year------------------------- 14,000 14,000 14,000 14,000 14,000

    3.) Return on unrecovered 6,056 5,103 4,035 2,840 1,500investment 12% x amount in row 1

    4.) Recovery of investment 7,944 8,897 9,965 11,160 12,500during year raw 2 amount minus row 3 amount

    5.) Unrecovered investment at 42,526 33,629 23,664 12,504 4*end of year raw 1 amount minus row 4 amount

    *There is an unrecovered investment of $4 because of accumulated

    rounding errors in the table. If it had carried out each numberto cents, the table would have finished up with an unrecovered

    investment of zero.

    Comparing the NPV and IRR

    Net-Present-Value:

    1. Compute the investment proposals net present valueusing the organizations hurdle rate as the

    discount rate.

    2. Accept the investment proposal if its net presentvalue is equal to or greater than zero, otherwisereject it.

    Internal-Rate of Return:

    1. Compute the investment proposals internal rate ofreturn which is the discount rate that yields a zero

    net present value for the project.

    2. Accept the investment proposal it its internal rate of

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    return is equal to or greater than the organizations

    hurdle rate, otherwise reject it.

    PROFIT MAXIMIZATION

    In economics, profit maximization is the process by which a

    firm determines the price and output level that returns the

    greatest profit. There are several approaches to this problem.

    The total revenue -- total cost method relies on the fact that

    profit equals revenue minus cost, and the marginal revenue --

    marginal cost method is based on the fact that total profit in a

    perfect market reaches its maximum point where marginal revenue

    equals marginal cost.

    Basic Definitions

    Any costs incurred by a firm may be classed into two

    groups: fixed cost and variable cost. Fixed costs are incurred

    by the business at any level of output, including none. Thesemay include equipment maintenance, rent, wages, and general

    upkeep. Variable costs change with the level of output,

    increasing as more product is generated. Materials consumed

    during production often have the largest impact on this

    category. Fixed cost and variable cost, combined, equal total

    cost.

    Revenue is the total amount of money that flows into the

    firm. This can be from any source, including product sales,

    government subsidies, venture capital and personal funds.

    Average cost and revenue are defined as the total cost or

    revenue divided by the amount of units output. For instance, if

    a firm produced 400 units at a cost of 20000 USD, the average

    cost would be 50 USD.

    Marginal cost and revenue, depending on whether the

    calculus approach is taken or not, are defined as either the

    change in cost or revenue as each additional unit is produced,

    or the derivative of cost or revenue with respect to quantity

    output. For instance, taking the first definition, if it costs a

    firm 400 USD to produce 5 units and 480 USD to produce 6, themarginal cost of the sixth unit is approximately 80 dollars,

    although this is more accurately stated as the marginal cost of

    the 5.5th unit due to linear interpolation. Calculus is capable

    of providing more accurate answers if regression equations can

    be provided.

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    Total Cost-Total Revenue Method

    To obtain the profit maximizing output quantity, we start

    by recognizing that profit is equal to total revenue minus total

    cost. Given a table of costs and revenues at each quantity, we

    can either compute equations or plot the data directly on a

    graph. Finding the profit-maximizing output is as simple as

    finding the output at which profit reaches its maximum. That is

    represented by output Q in the diagram.

    There are two graphical

    ways of determining that Q is

    optimal. Firstly, we see that

    the profit curve is at its

    maximum at this point (A).

    Secondly, we see that at the

    point (B) that the tangent on

    the total cost curve (TC) isparallel to the total revenue

    curve (TR), the surplus of

    revenue net of costs (B,C) is

    the greatest. Because total

    revenue minus total costs is

    equal to profit, the line

    segment C,B is equal in

    length to the line segment

    A,Q.

    Computing the price at which to sell the product requiresknowledge of the firm's demand curve. The price at which

    quantity demanded equals profit-maximizing output is the optimum

    price to sell the product.

    Marginal Cost-Marginal Revenue Method

    If total revenue and total cost figures are difficult to

    procure, this method may also be used. For each unit sold,

    marginal profit equals marginal revenue minus marginal cost.

    Then, if marginal revenue is greater than marginal cost,

    marginal profit is positive, and if marginal revenue is lessthan marginal cost, marginal profit is negative. When marginal

    revenue equals marginal cost, marginal profit is zero. Since

    total profit increases when marginal profit is positive and

    total profit decreases when marginal profit is negative, it must

    reach a maximum where marginal profit is zero - or where

    marginal cost equals marginal revenue. This intersection of

    marginal revenue (MR) with marginal costs (MC) is shown in the

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    next diagram as point A. If the industry is competitive (as is

    assumed in the diagram), the firm faces a demand curve (D) that

    is identical to its Marginal revenue curve (MR), and this is a

    horizontal line at a price determined by industry supply and

    demand. Average total costs are reprsented by curve ATC. Total

    economic profits are represented by area P,A,B,C. The optimum

    quantity (Q) is the same as the optimum quantity (Q) in the

    first diagram.

    Profit Maximization - The Marginal Approach

    If the firm is operating in a non-competitive market, minor

    changes would have to be made to the diagrams.

    Modes of Operation

    It is assumed that all firms are following rational

    decision-making, and will produce at the profit-maximizing

    output. Given this assumption, there are four categories in

    which a firm's profit may be considered.

    A firm is said to be making an economic profit when its

    average total cost is greater than the price of the product at

    the profit-maximizing output. The economic profit is equal to

    the quantity output multiplied by the difference between the

    average total cost and the price.

    A firm is said to be making a normal profit when its

    economic profit equals zero. This occurs where average total

    cost equals price at the profit-maximizing output.

    If the price is between average total cost and average

    variable cost at the profit-maximizing output, then the firm is

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    said to be in a loss-minimizing condition. The firm should still

    continue to produce, however, since its loss would be larger if

    it was to stop producing. By continuing production, the firm can

    offset at least its fixed cost and part of its variable cost,

    but by stopping completely they would lose equivalent to their

    fixed cost.

    If the price is below average variable cost at the profit-

    maximizing output, the firm is said to be in shutdown. Losses

    are minimized by not producing at all, since any production

    would not generate returns significant enough to offset any

    fixed cost and part of the variable cost. By not producing, the

    firm loses only its fixed cost.