Measurement & Evaluation

Click here to load reader

Embed Size (px)

description

This slideshow discusses measurement and evaluation techniques in public relations campaigns.

Transcript of Measurement & Evaluation

  • Measurement & Evaluation PR 313
  • Success of Failure?
    • How will you determine if your strategic plan and campaign was a success?
  • The Final Step
    • The final step in your planning is to determine how you will measure and define success
      • This will be the metric used to determine if your campaign was a success or failure
    • At the end of your campaign, you should evaluate based on the metric that was agreed upon at the beginning
  • Why Evaluate?
    • To document success
    • To encourage future work
    • To justify your expenses
    • To improve your future campaigns
    • To build credibility
    • To determine a basis for the next campaign
    • To promote the value of PR in your organization
  • Things to Consider
    • Was the campaign well planned?
    • Did the recipients understand the message?
    • What improvements can be made?
    • Did you achieve your stated goals?
    • Was the budget adequate?
    • What is replicable for future campaigns?
  • Measuring Success
    • There is a tendency for many PR practitioners to measure their output, rather than the achievement of their goals
      • For example, collecting press clippings is not enough
  • Measurement
    • In order to measure success, you must first define it
    • As part of your research and strategic planning phase, you and your client need to agree on realistic goals for accomplishment
    • This ensures that your work will be recognized and disagreements will be minimized
  • Examples
    • A defined increase in sales
    • A specific number of mentions in the press
    • A measured increase in public awareness of a brand or service
    • A pre-determined increase in customer direct inquiries about a product or service
  • Clients from Hell
    • The worst case scenario is ambiguous, ill-defined goals
    • This invites the client to challenge your work and effectiveness
  • Clip Counting
    • A physical counting of press placements will measure productivity
    • This may not truly represent success
    • There is a temptation to send out excessive releases to manipulate the perception of productivity (and add to the clients bill)
  • How to Get Clips
    • Do not ask a journalist to send you a clip
    • There are several services you can use:
      • Cision
      • Burrelles/Luce Press Clippings
    • These services are now offered online
  • Online Tracking
    • Cisions MediaSource
    • CisionPoint
  • Message Impressions
    • These services track media impressions (a.k.a. gross impressions) to detail how many people were exposed to the message
      • This factors in the circulation and/or reach of the media outlets that carried your message
  • Example
    • A campaign for a new soda is mentioned in several newspapers and magazines
    • Add up the circulation of these publications to get the estimated media impressions
  • Media Impressions
    • Useful to track the penetration of a message
    • However, the number can be misleading
    • This number does not reflect how many people actually saw the message only how many were exposed to it
  • Advertising Value Equivalency
    • Since story placements are free, there is an equivalent dollar value for the exposure
    • What would it have cost your client to get the same sort of exposure via paid placement advertising?
    • The AVE calculates the estimated value of the exposure (in ad dollars)
  • AVE
    • AVE helps to justify the expense of your PR campaign costs
    • However, it is not without controversy
      • Not all media coverage is positive
      • The value of the story space requires some subjective judgment and is prone to exaggeration
  • Systematic Content Analysis
    • Many of these software programs track the intricacies of the media coverage
      • Positive vs. negative coverage
      • Relationship of the coverage vs. your competitors
      • Contextualization of your coverage compared to the overall placement opportunities in the media outlet
  • Other Forms of Evaluation
    • Monitor the Internet
      • This includes gripe groups (anti-client blogs)
    • Toll-free numbers
      • How proactive are your customers?
  • Cost per Person
    • It can be difficult to compare the value of impressions across various forms of media
    • The CPM (cost per thousand) index helps you assign a dollar value to the expense of reaching 1,000 people in a particular media genre
  • Calculating CPM
    • Divide the total number of media impressions by the cost of your campaign
    • Example: A $10 million campaign that reaches 100 million people would have a CPM of $10. (It costs $10 to reach 1,000 people).
  • Monitoring Online Chatter
    • PR Newswire recently launched eWatch , a service that allows you to track what people are saying about your client online
  • Measurement of Audience Awareness
    • How many people know about your message or campaign?
    • You can conduct surveys to determine the audience awareness
  • Audience Attitudes
    • How does the public feel about your company, brand, product or service?
    • You can measure audience attitudes using benchmark studies that test attitudes both before and after exposure to the message
  • Audience Action
    • What action does the audience take as a result of the exposure to your message?
      • Do they buy your product?
      • Do they talk about you?
      • Did they request more information?
      • Did they enter your contest?
  • Web Site Analytics
    • Leaders in this space include:
      • Google Analytics
      • Omniture
      • WebTrends
      • Hitwise